200-Year Experience

1806 – Samuel Church built his paper mill on the Housatonic River2
1822 – Owen and Hurlbut purchase Sam’s Mill
1848 – Railroad reaches the mill in South Lee
1872 – Hurlbut’s 2 sons expand and modernize the Willow Mill bring capacity to 4 tons/day
1899 -Hurlbut becomes a unit of The American Writing paper Inc.
1927 – Mill was purchased by Paul Zuhlke and becomes private again
2002 – Mead merges with Westvaco to become MeadWestvaco
2009 – MWV sells specialty paper business, which becomes Onyx Specialty Papers, Inc.
2019 – Entering our second decade as Onyx Specialty Papers, Inc.